The What Was I Thinking Affect….

As everyone grows up, we tend to look back at times throughout our lives and laugh, think “What was I thinking?”, than move on. It was those silly actions we made to impress someone, those jokes we told nobody laughed at, or those horribly, bad hair days we had. The best example of this person would be Mitch Kramer, from Dazed and Confused, for some reason I do not know why, but that kid always made me cringe throughout the entire movie. However, the best part about these experiences are they are something of the past, that stick mostly only in our own memories. They are things we can think of to make ourselves laugh and shake our heads.

Mitch Kramer

When I was growing up, I never wanted to make any of my geeky moments public to the world. However, nowadays social media has allowed this opportunity and for whatever the reason may be people are taking the bate. We are everybody we “know” into our worlds and keeping nothing for ourselves. Much like the affect Mitch Kramer has on me, so do something I see on social media sties like Facebook and Twitter. People willingly uploading inappropriate pictures and unimportant statues because the world we live in makes us feel like outsiders to the norms.

However, I do understand there is a distinction in taking these ideas as light hearted and poking fun at the idea. On the other hand, there are people who do take the idea of social media to a whole new level where people relay announcements of their day-to-day on Facebook (ex. Posting up in my bed tonight, trying to shake my sickness.). How this is relevant to anything needed out there in the world boggles my mind. Another pet-peeve is when people are updating their Twitter and Facebook accounts while watching different events such as: sports, electoral debates, oscars, etc.

The issue I have is everybody is given the ability to communicate with one another for a specific reason and I believed we have taken that gift, flipped it on its head, and ran in the other direction. Next time you want to tell Kanye West how disappointed you are for interrupting your gurl t-swift during her expectance speech, please refrain and understand either I’m watching also or will read one of the hundreds of articles being typed at the moment from credible sources and people who know how to type articulately.

Leave a Reply

